Paul Liebrand’s Weblog

Welcome to my blog mainly about SharePoint

MOSS 2007 and User Memberships

A new and often misunderstood feature of Microsoft Office SharePoint Server (“MOSS”) 2007 is the concept of user memberships. The user membership information is rendered through a few different surfaces within the SharePoint environment.

The following is a list of places the membership information is used and surfaced:

1. Users My Site

image

2. Top Navigation Bar via the My Links / My SharePoint Sites

image

3. Office 2007 Client applications via the Open / Save dialog box

image

The membership feature was added to MOSS to make it easier for users to find the sites they work on often. Once it is implemented and setup correctly, this feature works extremely well.

Membership Functionality Requirements

In order for the MOSS membership functionality to be active and working you need to insure you have the following things in place:

  1. An established Shared Service Provider (“SSP”) with all your web applications associated to it.
  2. My Sites need to be enabled and each individual needs to set it as their default by clicking the “Set as default My Site” in the top right corner of My Site screen.
  3. A full Office Search crawl schedule (this is the process that actually updates the membership information).
  4. The users need to added to the group that is associated with the Members of this Site group setting. The group that is assigned to this setting can be determined by navigating to the site, clicking Site Actions / Site Settings / People and Group / Actions / Setup Groups.

Please note that simply just adding someone to the site will not work with the membership functionality; they need to be explicitly added to the group associated with the Members of this Site group  setting.

During my adventures with trying to understand this membership feature I discovered a SQL query that you can run which will output all the site membership information for a specified user.

Simply connect to your SQL server and the database associated with your SSP and execute this query:

declare @RecordId int select @RecordId = RecordId
  from dbo.UserProfile_Full
where PreferredName = ‘<<insert preferred name here>>’

exec dbo.QuickLinksRetrieveAllItems @RecordId,@ViewerItemSecurity=31,@RequestedItemSecurity=16

I hope this helps.

November 29, 2007 - Posted by | SharePoint | ,

21 Comments »

  1. […] My Links in the Database I wrote a post a few months back that explained how to find out the membership information for a specific user (My […]

    Pingback by Finding My Links in the Database « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog | November 29, 2007 | Reply

  2. […] Office 2007 and My SharePoint SitesMOSS 2007 and User Memberships […]

    Pingback by SharePoint Security / Permission Levels « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog | December 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. […] a previous blog post, MOSS 2007 and User Memberships, I explain how the My SharePoint Site gets populated.  The check only occurs once a day, […]

    Pingback by My SharePoint Sites and Authentication Popup « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog | February 27, 2008 | Reply

  4. […] some searching, I could find only a few references to listing users memberships. The initial solution (scroll to end of post) was to run a SQL query directly from the […]

    Pingback by Managing and Viewing a Specific User’s Memberships in SharePoint | March 13, 2008 | Reply

  5. Best information I could find on my site memberships/my sharepoint sites…good posting.

    Comment by Catherine | April 15, 2008 | Reply

  6. We have our users organized into Active Directory groups. Those AD groups are then associated with a particular SharePoint group. If I want a user to save documents through his/her My SharePoint Sites, will I then have to add each individual user to the SharePoint group associated with Members of this site group setting? That pretty much tells me I have to manage users at the SharePoint level, not AD like I was hoping. Is that correct?

    Comment by Adrian DeFazio | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. You are correct. Although dropping an AD group into the associated SharePoint members group will give everyone access to that site. The SharePoint membership functionality does not look in the AD group to determine who is a member of it.

    So if you want to make use of the My SharePoint Site feature, you really have two options. 1) You have to explicitly add the users to the members group in SharePoint, or 2) Use the published links feature of the SSP (not dynamic but can be used publish important links to the Office clients).

    Comment by liebrand | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  8. Thanks for the tips. THis may seem like a silly question, but on in a users mysite, their isn’t an option for them to “set as default my site”. Do you know how this is controlled? I think this is the reason why our users aren’t seeing their My SharePoint Site in Office Client Applications.

    Comment by Adrian DeFazio | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  9. The “Set As Default My Site” is normally located in the top right corner of the screen right below the “Site Actions” button.

    Generally this link will disappear if the PersonalSiteUrl registry key has a value in the following location:

    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Portal

    (or if the Active Directory Web Site property is set to the URL of your My Site.)

    If the value listed here does not match that of your actual “My Site” it will show the “Set as Default My Site” option again.

    This functionality is controlled via an ActiveX control, so make sure the URL of the My Sites has been specificed in the Trusted Sites zone of Internet Explorer.

    When clicking the “Set as Default My Site” option the following things occur:

    – The Active Directory property Web Site gets set for the user
    – The HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Open Find\Places\UserDefinedPlaces\PersonalSite
    – The HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Portal gets a PersonalSiteURL value set

    If you clear all these things and then visit your My Site again you should get prompted with a dialog box to set it as your default My Site.

    Probably the easiest thing to do is to simply change the value under the registry key ..\Common\Portal for the value PersonalSiteURL to something else. This will cause SharePoint to display the Set as Default My Site link again.

    Comment by liebrand | July 9, 2008 | Reply

  10. O.K. that was a big help. Our My sites are actually on a different web application, so I made the URL of the My Sites a Trusted Site zone on Internet Explorer and the “Set as Default My Site” Link is now available.

    It doesn’t seem to be updating properly because the link “Set as Default My Site” is still visisble. I’ve checked the registry settings and they are in place. Anyway I can verify the Active Directory property Web Site?

    It only seems to be returning the “My Site” link for My SharePoint Sites under client office applications. I know the search processed successfully last night, so is it related to “My Sites” being on a different web application then my intranet?

    Comment by Adrian DeFazio | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  11. I have my “My Sites” on a different web application so that is definitely not the problem. The only way to verify the Active Directory property is to go into the Manage Users of the domain, look up your account, and then look in the Web site field.

    Do you have a search schedule created for full and incremental?

    Comment by liebrand | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  12. I looked in AD, and it doesn’t seem like that property is being set.

    yeah the full search schedule is every night at 12:00. The incremental runs every 5 minutes

    Comment by Adrian DeFazio | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  13. Adrian,

    I am not sure why the Active Directory properties are not being updated. It appears to be a permission issue or something like that. I have not experienced that problem yet.

    Have you attempted to run the membership query listed at this post https://liebrand.wordpress.com/2007/11/29/moss-2007-and-user-memberships/ against your account name to see if it returns any results?

    Comment by liebrand | July 10, 2008 | Reply

  14. Paul,

    It looks like the My SharePoint Sites is populating with the correct sites now. Is it the full crawl schedule on the “My Sites” Web appliction that populates the My SharePoint Sites in office client applications?

    Comment by Adrian DeFazio | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  15. Adrian,

    The incremental crawl will pick up your membership information once you have been added, so every 5 minutes in your case. However, the Office Client propagation of this information happens once every 24 hours (unless you blow away the registry key listed in post https://liebrand.wordpress.com/2007/11/29/office-2007-and-my-sharepoint-sites/).

    Comment by liebrand | July 11, 2008 | Reply

  16. have you found a way to create webpart or modify out of the box webpart so it picks up ALL your memberships (where you are owner, visitor, or have custom permissions), not JUST the ones where you’re a member? We are looking to implement this type of functionality.

    Comment by Mike | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  17. Per KB 841057, modification of this stored procedure will put your installation in an unsupported state-which means you will need to restore to a date prior to running this stored proc before receiving Microsoft support.

    You can take a look here if you would like:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/841057

    Might be worth mentioning in your blog that you “discovered” this in the stored procedures included with SharePoint.

    Comment by Jason Graves | January 6, 2009 | Reply

  18. […] MOSS 2007 and User Memberships « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog (tags: SharePoint) […]

    Pingback by links for 2009-05-27 « Jet Grrl | May 27, 2009 | Reply

  19. HELP in Sharepoint 2007
    Sorry dint know where to post this. but need your help.

    I am not able to see the “Set as default My Site” link in Sharepoint 2007 My Site. Once I open the page that link is visible for a couple of seconds and then disappears.
    Can you let me know why this happens and how i could rectify the same
    ACS

    Comment by ACS | June 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

