Paul Liebrand’s Weblog

Welcome to my blog mainly about SharePoint

Office 2007 and My SharePoint Sites

In previous posts I have discussed the concepts around the MOSS 2007 Membership functionality (see the Office 2007 and User Memberships post). This post talks about the location of the My SharePoint Sites and how it gets populated. Once again, the My SharePoint Sites functionality is new to Office 2007 and requires you establish your My Site prior to it actually functioning.

Location of My SharePoint Sites

The My SharePoint Sites folder gets created by any of the Office 2007 applications. The folder can be found in the following location:

C:\Documents and Settings\<Username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Office\

What populates the My SharePoint Sites folder?

The Office 2007 application suite is responsible for populating this folder. It will populate it based on what member groups you belong to within your SharePoint environment. Office will update this location once a day the first time you launch an Office 2007 application.

You can force an update of this location by deleting the following registry key:

HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Portal\LinkPublishingTimestamp

If you delete that above key and simply restart one of your Office applications, it will repopulate that folder based on what it thinks you are a member of.

Thanks,

Paul Liebrand

November 29, 2007 - Posted by | SharePoint | ,

24 Comments »

  1. […] Original post by Paul Liebrand’s Weblog […]

    Pingback by Restart One » Blog Archive » Office 2007 and My SharePoint Sites | December 1, 2007 | Reply

  2. […] Office 2007 and My SharePoint SitesMOSS 2007 and User Memberships […]

    Pingback by SharePoint Security / Permission Levels « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog | December 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Booh-yah! That reg key is critical for testing!!!!

    Comment by Chad Lancour | December 10, 2007 | Reply

  4. I was having a problem with three users not being able to save documents from Office 2007 apps to SharePoint. The lists and libraries would not display when the users clicked on shortcuts in the ‘My SharePoint Sites’. The app would try to save the document directly to the site. I deleted the shortcuts and registry key and closed all the Office apps. The next time I opened an Office app the shortcuts repopulated and worked fine. Thanks for the post!

    Comment by Robert Truchon | February 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. […] In a previous blog post, MOSS 2007 and User Memberships, I explain how the My SharePoint Site gets populated.  The check only occurs once a day, unless you clear the registry key (see Office 2007 and My SharePoint Sites.) […]

    Pingback by My SharePoint Sites and Authentication Popup « Paul Liebrand’s Weblog | February 28, 2008 | Reply

  6. I have no “LinkPublishingTimestamp” key under “Portal” I only have “Link Providers” which shows our MOSS server and then a published link (that I was testing awhile back).

    Brian

    Comment by Brian | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  7. Brian, Are you running Office 2007 and did you set your My Site as your default My Site by clicking the link on your My Site?

    Comment by liebrand | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  8. Yes, using Office 2007 – each time I go to “My Site” on my Vista PC, it has the option to set it as the default My Site.

    Trying to determine if this a Vista issue on this PC, or it may be “confused” – I have another My Site on our test MOSS server.

    Going to check my XP machine and see if it has similar problem.

    Brian

    Comment by Brian | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  9. XP machine has the registry key. Deleted the key and saw it rebuild it repopulated the folder based on my membership.

    My main concern I have is that a new document library is not appearing from a site in “My SharePoint” sites.

    Would that be the Office crawl intervals that need to be modified (full/incremental) – other blog post mentioned this.

    Brian

    Comment by Brian | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  10. Your Vista machine may have a “permission” issue that is prevent the Active X Control from updating the necessary registry settings.

    As for your XP machine — remember the document libraries will NOT show up in the “My SharePoint Sites” feature only sites will.

    This process is completely dependent on your crawl schedule (incremental or full).

    Comment by liebrand | February 5, 2009 | Reply

  11. We do not use My Sites functionality from SharePoint but have MOSS 2007 as our Intranet along with Office 2007. Is there a way to get the SharePoint My Sites functionality (including using audiences) to work without having a My Site?
    Thanks

    Comment by KW | March 13, 2009 | Reply

    • Audiences is independent of My Sites in MOSS. You can configure audiences within the Shared Services Provider Administration section of Central Admin. As for the My SharePoint Sites function — this unfortunately is tied to My Sites. Without it SharePoint will not propagate the information to your client PCs.

      Comment by liebrand | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  12. I am having a problem accessing/saving to any sharepoint site from office. When I select “my sharepoint sites” there is nothing listed. When manually entering the url, I get the error message “cannot find the url, please check your typing”.
    The weird thing is that I can upload any file to the site or open any file. All registry settings seems correct. When I delete the registry key HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Portal\LinkPublishingTimestamp and went back to mysites and set it as default. Everything repopulated, but I am still not able to access sharepoint sites from any office app.

    Comment by Pbrooks | May 7, 2009 | Reply

    • pbrooks,

      You might want to verify that your “WebClient” service is running — if this is not running, it could cause problems like that.

      Paul Liebrand

      Comment by liebrand | May 7, 2009 | Reply

      • Webclient is running on the client machine as well as the sharepoint server (w2k3) and I still cannot save.

        Comment by pbrooks | May 8, 2009

      • Are you using HTTPS or HTTP for accessing your SharePoint environment?

        Comment by liebrand | May 8, 2009

      • http

        Comment by pbrooks | May 8, 2009

  13. Send me an email at mailer@imaxa.com and I’ll see if I can assist you further.

    Comment by liebrand | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  14. I am trying to have a place where we (IT) control the content. We want to publish the links and have nothing else get added. My first attempt was My Network Places. I could clear it, populate it, but even though I used the group policy “Do not add shares of recently opened documents to Network Locations” and then I even added another key (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer]”NoRecentDocsNetHood”=dword:00000001)
    The end result is still unwanted links popping up in My Network Places.

    So now I am trying My Sharepoint Sites. But it appears to have the same autopopulate characteristics. Is there any way to have a few links for the users to their document libraries without having everything they browse to automatically show up?

    Comment by Rich | June 23, 2009 | Reply

  15. But is there a way to populate those My Sharepoint Sites with sites a person is not a member of? We are using the Member group as the group or the main team- and everyone else goes in Visitors group. But sometimes, an enduser would want a site listed in My Sharepoint Sites, even if they are not a member, because they have been giving read/write access to some of the document libraries.

    Comment by Gus Curran | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  16. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Comment by sandrar | September 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

