Paul Liebrand’s Weblog

Welcome to my blog mainly about SharePoint

Disabling My SharePoint Sites propagation or adjusting the frequency

I have previously explained how “My SharePoint Sites” works and how it gets propagated to the client. What happens if you want to disable this feature or adjust the frequency of when it occurs.

From time to time I get asked this question so I figured I would write up a post about it.

By default, Office creates two registry values under “HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Office\12.0\Common\Portal”, which are:

Registry Value Description
LinkPublishingTimestamp A binary timestamp of the last time the sites were propagated to the client
PersonalSiteURL The URL to the users My Site

There are two additional values you can create manually in the users registry or via a GPO.

Registry Value Value Description
LinkPublishingDisabled 0 = false, 1 = true (DWORD) Disables the My SharePoint Site (or Link Publishing) on the Client PC.
LinkPublishingFrequency DWORD value in minutes* Changes the frequency from the default 24 hour to whatever value you put in there.

* Microsoft claims this is in minutes, however, when I did testing with this it appeared to be in seconds.

Hopefully this will help you gain more control over the My SharePoint Sites / Link Publishing feature of SharePoint and Office.

May 21, 2009 - Posted by | SharePoint | ,

6 Comments

  1. Hi Paul

    You seem to be the only person on the web who really understands SharePoint My Site memberships (and corresponding office integration) so I’m hoping you might be able to point me in the right direction for our school sharepoint site.

    The Memberships do not seem to get updated at all. I’ve got the members groups set up (and correctly configured as members groups). I’ve got the my site working ok. I’ve got search crawl working ok and profile imports working ok (so they seem) and yet nothing appearing in Memberships.

    We did do a restore a few months back from a server to a new server (with a different server name) and I wonder if that may be related because we had a number of issues to sort out at the time.

    Any ideas as to where I could go about hunting the problem down?

    Many thanks (and great blog)

    Paul Baker
    Cambridge, UK

    Comment by Paul Baker | July 1, 2009

  2. Paul,

    On your SharePoint server, run the following command:

    STSADM -o sync -listolddatabases 0

    If you see anything that is older than the current date, then run the following command:

    STSADM -o sync -deleteolddatabases 0

    The profile / membership job runs every hour on the hour — so wait at least 1 hour 15 minutes and then run the -listolddatabases command again.

    You should see all the content database GUID listed there with the current date and a time near the previous hour.

    If so, initial your full crawl again. Once that is complete — check your Memberships again.

    Good luck!

    Paul Liebrand

    Comment by Paul Liebrand | July 1, 2009

  3. Hi Paul – Info on My SP sites at your blog is super!

    I am struggling with a way to figure out if My SP Sites can work on XP/Win2003 clients with Office 2007, with ‘My Site’ disabled.

    I’d like to utilize maximum of what SP/Office already does, without manually creating shortcuts on their desktops for thousands of users/sites.

    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

    –Sharad

    Comment by Sharad | July 20, 2009

    • Sharad,

      You can get the “My SharePoint Sites” feature to work on Office 2007 clients with My Sites disabled. This will require you to roll out the necessary registry keys to every client PC though.

      If this is something you are interested in, let me know and I’ll write up a post about it in the next few days.

      Thanks,

      Paul Liebrand

      Comment by Paul Liebrand | July 24, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

