Paul Liebrand’s Weblog

Welcome to my blog mainly about SharePoint

Baffled! “Your changes could not be saved because this SharePoint Web site has exceeded the storage quota limit.”

I have hit a strange problem today and I am trying to wrap my head around why this is happening.  Perhaps the SharePoint community has run into this before and has some insight as to what is causing it.

I have some custom code that enumerates each list then items in the list to do some security report processing. However, every now and then we will run across a user who has exceed their site quota and when our custom code runs we receive the following SPException:

Microsoft.SharePoint.SPException occurred
  Message="Your changes could not be saved because this SharePoint Web site has exceeded the storage quota limit. You must save your work to another location.  Contact your administrator to change the quota limits for the Web site."
  Source="Microsoft.SharePoint"
  ErrorCode=-2130575282
  StackTrace:
       at Microsoft.SharePoint.Library.SPRequest.GetListItemDataWithCallback(String bstrUrl, String bstrListName, String bstrViewName, String bstrViewXml, SAFEARRAYFLAGS fSafeArrayFlags, ISP2DSafeArrayWriter pSACallback, ISPDataCallback pPagingCallback, ISPDataCallback pSchemaCallback)
       at Microsoft.SharePoint.SPListItemCollection.EnsureListItemsData()
       at Microsoft.SharePoint.SPListItemCollection.Undirty()
       at Microsoft.SharePoint.SPBaseCollection.System.Collections.IEnumerable.GetEnumerator()

My code does not attempt to update any information within the SharePoint site, so why would simply accessing the items in a list cause this error message?

To prove to myself that I am not writing any information to the list I decided to navigate to this list using the SharePoint Manager 2007 tool. As you can see from the screenshot below, I received the same error message just by clicking on the library:

YourChangesCouldNotbeSaved

Has anyone else seen this before? Any guidance would be appreciated.

I’ll continue my quest to discover the reason – I am hoping it is something obvious that I am overlooking.

August 14, 2009 - Posted by | SharePoint | ,

2 Comments

  1. Interesting problem, the only thing i can think of is that it is updating last access timestamps on the files or items in the list. This should however not be a problem (for example NTFS does this too but it does not affect the quota).

    I could be totaly wrong in this but as i said, thats the only thing i can imagine that would try to change/add data to the database when you open a list for viewing. The next question then is why this would fall inside the quota limits. And do other SharePoint processes also fail, like crawling the list for example?

    Comment by Willem Bruinius | August 31, 2009

    • Willem,

      Interesting perspective. I would 100% agree with you but the only thing is it does not generate the error on every list. I could hit 9/10 lists fine and then one list with generate this error.

      I do not recall seeing any errors in my crawl logs relating to this but I will double check.

      Thanks

      Paul Liebrand

      Comment by Paul Liebrand | August 31, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

